Drawer Upcycle

During a trash trawling, I found these 2 drawers. I had no immediate plans, but they were sturdy and had the rollers that I thought I might need on some drawers at the house.

I decided that I would just paint one white and make it to hang on the wall as a kind of shadow box. Well, as you might expect, as I began to work, the brain went wild and I began to see a counter top shelf. The front of the drawer would have had to be cut off on the bottom for it to hang flush on the wall. I really did not want to do this. After I primed the drawer, I thought that it would be nice with some shelves. The most used spice in our pantry is TexJoy Steak Seasoning. It is made in Beaumont, TX and can now be found it many Texas stores. We put it on everything.

Okay, back to the drawer. I took the jar of TexJoy to measure the height of the top shelf. Then I divided the bottom section in half. This was a very un-math calculation because I do not do math. The shelves were made from some 1x4s that I had in my pile of wood. After I put in the shelves, I decided that they needed some trim. Back to the wood pile. I found some plastic trim molding. I’m sure that I found it in someone’s trash. By nailing the trim 1/4″ above the top of the shelf, there was a small lip to hold the spices in place.

The next step was sanding and filling in holes with wood putty. I have no real training in all of this. I just jump right in with both feet and hope for the best. The plastic trim did not sand very well, but the putty covers a multitude of sins.  I painted the putty-filled and sanded shelf white. That’s when I decided that the shelf needed feet. I had a 4×4 scrap that was about 1″ thick. I cut it in half so that I had 2 blocks 1x2x4. I attached them to the bottom with wood glue.

In someone’s blog, I had seen a white dresser painted with a turquoise zigzag design. That sounded good. I started mixing colors until I found one I liked. Here is the finished shelf. It is at the Antiques and Crafts Mall in Pasadena, TX with some collectibles on the shelves.

I think that I will make a doll bed out of the other drawer. I can make a small mattress and quilt. It will be great for Christmas. What do you think?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gail
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 13:49:22

    cute! I like that you added feet. The other one should make a good doll bed.
    You should link up to my party. http://myrepurposedlife.blogspot.com/2010/09/featured-followers-friday-week-20-link.html
    gail

    Reply

  2. trash2treasure
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 16:38:26

    VEry nice. The ‘lip’ on the shelves is great. And you KNOW I love the FEET!
    aj
    http://trash2treasure.wordpress.com/

    Reply

  3. Lindsey@BetterAfter
    Sep 25, 2010 @ 22:42:33

    So cute! What a clever idea!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Furniture in Review « Creative Art and Design
  5. Trackback: Furniture in Review « Creative Art and Design
  6. Cassie
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 03:03:26

    what a great idea!! i love that you added shelves to it!

    Reply

  7. Melanie
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 14:56:42

    Wow, Very creative you are! I love it!

    Reply

  8. Wood Shelf Plans
    Mar 23, 2013 @ 13:58:47

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote the
    book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that,
    this is great blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

