Dresser Update


I am not completely finished with the dresser, but I have had several requests for updates.


This is how it started. This doesn’t look too bad, but looks can be deceiving. We found this in the trash. It is old and all wood. The bottoms were missing in 2 of the drawers. I replaced those with plywood. Then I sanded the whole thing, primed and painted it white. Elaine wanted it to be pink and black. I found this material that I really liked at Hobby Lobby. One option was to make a stencil and paint the design on the drawer fronts. That was too hard. The second option was to decoupage the fabric on the drawer front. The pattern on the fabric was strange so this would not work. Finally I decided to decoupage stripes of the fabric, paint pink stripes and edge the stripe with ribbon. Now I will put several coats of polyurethane on the whole thing and try to figure out how to make the drawers slide easier.

Here is what it looks like now. You can see how beautiful my garage is in the background.

I will send more pictures when I finish the dresser. I am having so much fun. Thank you Elaine.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie
    Oct 27, 2010 @ 12:34:36

    wow- this is one funky dresser! the colors are so fun!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

