Productive Trash Week

People in Friendswood, TX were trying to fill the landfill this week. I made a killing. My neighbor had a wood pedestal table at the street. The pedestal is exactly like ours that fell apart after Hurricane Ike. I can just remove the pedestal, refinish it  and attach it to our table. Brad’s mother could remember cutting our table with a butter knife when she was 3. She would be 89 now.

The piece that goes around the top has come loose, but I can probably fix it or not. Who will know what happens to the top?

Our grandson, August, will be very excited about the toys I found. His parents are. They just need to be cleaned up.

   

   

I think the car will be the biggest hit. We will see them in 2 weeks. I can hardly wait to see his reaction. He is walking now and will be able to get into so much more.

I also found another dresser. Does anyone have suggestions about how to decorate this one. I will probably fix it and sell it. I think Elaine has enough dressers. This is wood and solid, also very heavy. All the drawers are good except one which is missing. I do have the front, but I could also put a shelf and basket.

      

Do you have any suggestions for this dresser? Here are the ones I did for Elaine.

     

I also found this wooden bucket from an ice cream freezer. I am taking it to Austin. Maybe Emily would like it for a plant.

Next week I will probably strick out, but the hunt is fun.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly
    Jun 28, 2010 @ 01:38:18

    Melanie,

    You could make the dresser a victorian style with the crackled white paint or something. The drawer that is missing you could put a white wicker basket in it with bows on it as well. I don’t know it was just a thought. Wow you find some good stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

