Living Room Update

When we remodeled our house in Bridge City, my son, Barry, said, “You know, Mom, you don’t have to cover every inch of every wall.” Well, I do not believe that. Walls are made for decoration.

Today I am going to show you our living room in Friendswood. After hurricane Ike we moved to my hometown of Friendswood to be closer to family. We were homeless. Our house is Bridge City was unlivable and we decided it was time to cut our losses and leave. My wonderful husband found us a house to lease and I began to make it home. We couldn’t move in for 2 weeks because it had no electricity, but I could still work on it during the day.

I started by hanging my stuff on all the walls.

Yes, my stuff is chickens.

These 4 pictures are interesting. The one on the left is a watercolor painted by my mother. When they downsized, I got all the chickens. This is one of my favorite Esther Speck paintings. The one in the gold frame is from my parents’ art collection. It is 18th century for the French Barbizon school. The next one my parents’ got while visiting a school in China. This was painted by a girl in kindergarten. I wish I knew where she was now. The last one was done by my brother, Larry, in boy scouts while he was in junior high. It is made from different colored rocks.

I had to change the window treatment because there were vertical blinds on EVERY window. I used closet poles from the Ike house for my curtain rods and hung them close to the ceiling. Because we didn’t know how long we would be in the lease house, I just velcroed shears to the rod for the blinds.

The fireplace was another fun project. The house had a very small mantle. I knew that it would not be big enough for christmas stockings. So I used 2 headboards and curved boards from a decorative bridge, all from the trash, to make a new mantle. The shelves on the side came from the Ike house. They were made from our neighbor’s fence after hurricane Rita.

I painted the bluebonnet picture above the mantel.

The last section is the TV wall. I painted a picture of our wonderful dog Pepper. I did not realize how much I would miss her. She was such a big part of our lives for 15 years. She is guarded by chicken on both sides.

I will show you some of the other things that I have done to this house later.

Copy Me Challenge

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Finally Christmas « Creative Art and Design
  2. Michell@ A Full Cottage
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 18:21:43

    I love your chicken paintings. I can not believe a kindergartener made that one! WoW! I really like the mantle too. What a great idea to use the headboards.

    Please stop by my blog I am having a big giveaway.

    πŸ™‚ Michelle

    Reply

  3. Funky Junk Interiors
    Feb 05, 2011 @ 18:40:38

    Very nice area, Melanie! And hose fireplace wooden details? Amazing!! SOLD!! Please ship anytime it’s convenient for you. πŸ™‚

    Donna
    http://funkyjunkinteriors.blogspot.com/

    Reply

  4. bj
    Feb 06, 2011 @ 00:01:40

    looking gooood.
    So glad yu have a home now.:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

