Are You Ready For Some Football?

If you’re not, then you must not be from Texas. In Texas, this time of year is all about sports and team activities. There is football which includes the players, the band, the drill team, the cheerleaders, the flag corps, the crazy kids in the stands. Then you have the little kids running around. There are the proud (and not so proud) parents of all of these kids. The big activity is Friday night, but it really goes an all week. My mother says that she had only gone to 1 football game before she got married. During her 63 years of marriage, she probably went to a million. The year that nearly killed her was when Larry played JV on Thursday night. Randy played varsity on Friday night. They drove to Austin on Saturday to see the Longhorns and returned to Houston on Sunday to watch the Oilers.

And football in not the only team activity. There is  soccer, volleyball, basketball, dance, karate. The list goes on and on. My children are grown and my grandson in too young, but my nephews (and their mother) are sports crazy. The boys have always been moving from one sport to another. Now Blake plays football for the University of Houston and Brandon plays football for Friendswood Junior High. Lisa went to her first football game when she was 6 weeks old and she has not missed a game since.

Several years ago, I started making gift items for students to give to each other during football season. Now I have become more specialized. If someone can give me a picture, I can make a stained glass window, a quillow, a necklace, or a painting. That is what I have done so far, but you know I am always open for new ideas.

In the blog today, I am going to just post lots of pictures of things that I have made.

Quillow: a quilt folded into a pillow.

Bib Necklaces:  hand-beaded on fabric base.

“Stained Glass”: Painted on vintage window or framed glass

Paintings: watercolor on paper and acrylic on canvas.

I hope that you have enjoyed looking at my creations for team spirit. If you are interested, check out MMB Creations on etsy and The Antiques and Crafts Mall of Pasadena. I would love for you to become a follower of my blog and a friend on Facebook MMB Creations on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

