Finally Christmas

I have had a very hard time getting it together this year. Today I finally put up the Christmas tree. Now that does not mean that the house is ready for Christmas. It means the tree is decorated. Our tree is an example of “necessity is the mother of invention”. About 8 years ago I bought a very nice, and expensive, tree. It is 9′ tall and prelit. I have really enjoyed it. In our house in Bridge City, it looked great in the living room. We had lots of room for a big, full tree. Well we now live in a smaller house in Friendswood. When we moved we lost part of the tree. The top is gone and some of the lights do not work. If you know me, you know that I do not throw things away. I get creative. Here is the sad tree without a top.

We also had to retire the crocheted angel topper that we had for about 30 years. She was just YUCK! I crocheted another angel. It took me 3 tries to get the right size because I did not have a pattern and I don’t really know what I am doing most of the time. So I took the angel, some tulle and lights and stuck them on the top of the tree.

It really looks that we meant to do that. Here is the whole tree.

When I decorate, I tend to go overboard with a theme.

As I mentioned in an earlier blog, most of the year, my house is overrun with chickens. For Christmas I do angels. Today I will concentrate on the tree. Later I will show you my other angels. Here are SOME of my ornaments.

Next time I’ll show you how I upcycle my pillows for Christmas.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Juana Matthews
    Dec 13, 2010 @ 13:28:12

    Enjoyed the story of your tree/angels. I even recognized some being like some I have (probably from Sims days) Our 30 something tree topper looks very aged also & I recognized one made from a magnolia pod.

    Reply

  2. Carrie
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 19:43:30

    You are so talented! You “AMAZE ME”! Thank you for linking up to the Monday blog party!!

    Reply

  3. Berg4
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 15:25:09

    I love all the angels! The love you put into your tree is apparent, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  4. Allison
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 16:27:32

    Love what you did with the top of the tree! I’d never would have known you lost the tree top. You have some very pretty angle ornaments!
    Thanks so much for linking up to my Holiday Open House.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Angels Everywhere!! « Creative Art and Design

Leave a Reply

