Chair Reduction

My reputation spreads. A friend called and said she had saved this bar-stool from the curb.

She had the chair beside her garage for several days before I remembered to pick it up. Of course, while I procrastinated, the rains came. This picture is actually after I fixed it. The seat had become unglued. I glued and clamped the seat. My vision was a chair for my grandson, August. I sanded and sanded. The plan brewing in this crazy brain was to remove the seat and lazy Susan swivel, cut off the legs to make the chair seat about 12″ tall. When I took it apart, I decided that the chair looked top-heavy. I bought a larger wooden round to use as the swivel base. I cut out the largest part of the legs and attached them using brackets and screws. This still did not look right. I thought about bun feet, but they cost money (not in my plan) and they are too short. I went to my scrap wood pile and decided to create legs out of a 4×4 post. I cut the legs at an angle and attached them to the round.

Finally the chair began to look proportionally correct. Next I primed and painted it red. Here is the finished product.

Won’t August look cute twirling around and around in this chair? He won’t be able to move the chair around now because it is very heavy…sturdy.

 

They will be here in just 5 days!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Dec 16, 2010 @ 16:36:59

    How cute! What a great idea! Thanks for linking this as well.

    Reply

  2. Baye
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 00:25:10

    So creative, cute, practical, well-done. Can you tell I’m impressed? I’m rss’ing this blog for sure. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  3. Lisa @ Serendipity Chic Decor
    Dec 17, 2010 @ 22:42:51

    August definitely takes the cake for cuteness. She will love that chair.. It is pretty funny when friends start collecting items for you…

    Would you believe I saw Nate Berkus today! My kids thought I was crazy when I started yelling that Nate was copying me! LOL!

    Thanks for stopping by…
    Lisa

    Reply

  4. gail
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 17:52:46

    so cute! Sounds like it was perplexing, but the grands are worth it, are they not?
    thanks for linking up!
    gail

    Reply

  5. I Play Outside The Box
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 11:34:31

    Cute chair for such a handsome little fella!! Merry Christmas!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 15:17:17

    Fantastic idea…..for a little one or someone short like me that can’t climb on those bar stools! lol

    Reply

  7. TRU @ TRU TALES FEATS
    Dec 20, 2010 @ 17:55:22

    Very creative. Kinda looks like a dwarf chair.

    Reply

  8. Cassie
    Dec 22, 2010 @ 17:51:43

    adorable! love the fun red on it, and so glad he will get to put it to use soon! have fun!

    Reply

  9. Karen G
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 17:50:53

    What a great idea. I would never have though to make it small chair.

    Reply

  10. Trackback: Catch-as-catch-can highlights & Winner! - My Repurposed Life™

Leave a Reply

